Privacy settings help you to control who can access your social media profiles and other information you have stored online or on your devices.
Social media sites or apps often have a default ‘open’ setting, so if you want to restrict who can see your information you might have to manually change your privacy settings. You can usually do this within the account settings. Some social media sites return to the default privacy setting (available to all) when you install an update, so it is a good idea to regularly check your privacy settings and make sure you are in control of what other people can view.
When checking your privacy settings, it can be helpful to think about the following:
Do I want my profile to be visible to anyone or only my friends?
Do I want to accept friend/follower requests from people I don't know?
How much information about myself am I comfortable sharing with my friends, my family, or new friends?